Books as Event Themes

Hello you saucy people you,

At first, I was a bit confused by the topic chosen for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday post. I was also really, really, unsure that I would be able to come up with five books that would make good event/party themes because I’m just not the party throwing or party going sort of gal but once I sat down to really think about it I realized that I just might have five books in mind.

So without further ado let’s get on with it,

  1. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake.

three dark crowns

Can you imagine it? An event centered around the poisoner parties? I mean that aesthetic. It is officially goals. Of course, I’m just talking about the ambiance, lighting, and overall mood of the event, not necessarily the death-inducing food since we’re not exactly blessed with an immunity to dangerous and life threatening poisons. But seriously, that dark dinner vibe with the banquet style layout and the all black clothing/decor and do I even need to mention the snakes? Warms my little Slytherpuff heart.

2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae

Now hear me out, an Illuminae themed laser tag party. Can you imagine? We could have opposing sides, someone playing the role of the super crazy A.I., and maybe even like a room where there’s like a bounce house type vibe. I’d say anti-gravity chamber but come on guys, the likelihood of that ever happening is pretty darn slim but still, a space-themed laser battle? I’m in and it doesn’t even exist.

3. I Hate Fairyland by Skottie Young

ihfl

Yes, I am aware that this is a comic but honestly, I’ve just always wanted to throw a party with bright whimsical colors where everyone has to dress in a sort of fairyland aesthetic. It’s just pleasing to me and while I wouldn’t want the death, destruction or the potential bar fight I would be lying if I said that my friends and I didn’t swear like the characters in this book do because- we do. See? I’m not that ashamed to admit it.

4. Firebug by Lish McBride

16117921

Now, my reason behind this is simple. I want to go to the club/restaurant that serves as the headquarters for the gang of miscreants that live in this story. Every floor of it just sounds so friggin cool and wonderful (okay, maybe not the bottom floor of doom but that gets turned into a pretty decent office/operations setting in the second book, Pyromantic). Who wouldn’t want to throw an event where things are heaven and hell themed?

5. The Selection by Kiera Cass

the selection

Yes, I am fully aware that this is on a lot of people’s lists but hey, who doesn’t want an excuse to eat like a potential future princess and wear a gorgeous ass ball gown? I do.

Well, there you have it, my top 5 book inspired event themes.

Honorable mention goes to the comic book series Scott Pilgrim because that whole series and movie are everything to me. I mean seriously, a video game themed party and not the typical Pacman stuff? Who wouldn’t be in favor of that? And besides, it’d give me an excuse to rock some pink hair.

Leave a comment